If you have any problems, just refresh your browser. We use Cookies on this website too - More Info' close ×

Freestyle by Bassnectar from Amorphous Music w/ Free Mixtape

Freestyle by Bassnectar from Amorphous Music

Bassnectar is a legend in my mind and I appreciate his style – or his ‘Freestyle’ rather – very much indeed. Having been influenced by rock music and developed his ways into electronically created grooves, this is a man who can rock the crowds with his ferocious basslines, harmonic melodies and infectious hooks.

Over the last couple of years he has toured relentlessly and has sold-out in various venues. He has had a string of credible releases which have done superbly well in various digital stores but there is something special about this “rag-tag collection of tunes”. Unpigeon-hole-able, uncategorisable, Bassnectar tunes.

The first track comes across as a little weak at first but this is just the build-up tune in a way. The rolling lyrics from Angel Haze on the title track ‘Freestyle’ drives the minimal track along as the chaotic electro effects gather some uniformity and then the bass drops. A wall of oomph is then smashed into our faces. The drum track trickles along brilliantly in a DnB style rattle with booming bass patches.

Track two has that classic Bassnectar warmth that many a bass-heavy producer seems to forget about. Collaborated alongside DC Breaks, this is ‘Breathless ft. Mimi Page’ and it’s subtle vibrancy is genuinely comfortable, uplifting and also proud. The euphoric edge that you tend to get with trance is present thanks to the dreamy vocals from Page. She brings the soft rain whilst Lorin brings the thunder and DC Breaks adds the lightning.

‘Hologram’ is track three and all I can say about this initially is WOW! I find myself becoming green with envy after missing this one being played live and loud across recent months because this is simply a powerhouse of a tune. The cute high pitched melody that lingers over the pulsating bass tones is a true marvel. The atmosphere that this tune creates is astonishing, and to hear it live would cause some of the emotionally unstable to break down and cry. A really moving piece of material incorporating various elements from many a genre.

But then there is ‘Infinite’. It’s always nice to hear a sweet, anthemic dance tune but I do like the rough and dirty tracks as most of us nowadays do. This particular composition is all of the above. This is by far the best one for me. It is truly a dead good tune. An absolutely timeless record and will without doubt be one of the most favourited from the release.

Here we have Bassnectar giving Zion I the remix treatment on his track ‘Human’. This has now become bass-driven hip-hop tune with rampant drum track kicking in, out and everywhere at specially timed moments. A very hardcore track with plenty of bounce.

Even though this is “Freestyle” work, the final track on the EP is a serious dubstep number with some of the more classic and standard elements but eclectically put together. Very Freq Nasty. This is a remix along with Timeline on the Amp Live & Eligh track ‘Ego Killer’. A minimal yet pounding drum beat with the occasional 8 bit melody fluttering above the mordant bassline that penetrates through disrupting the very fabric of time and space. Probably a little over the top, but you catch my drift, I’m sure.

It may appear to some that this may have been written by Lorin Bassnectar himself but I swear that he hasn’t. I am simply a fan of his work, his style and also his attitude towards work, rest and play. He is truly a marvel at what he does and this latest release displays all of these excellent traits along with some fantastic basslines and groove. Even the free mixtape below has all of these weaved within. Support the release buy buying from one of the digital stores and grab the free download to say thanks for such an awesome release – and get it in WAV files if you want superior quality.

As I have previously described Bassnectar’s material before: This has “more twists than a Chubby Checker convention”. It is still relevant now.

Freestyle by Bassnectar from Amorphous Music is out now everywhere


On Beatport: http://btprt.dj/WsQ9T1
On iTunes EU: http://bit.ly/TyiocY
On iTunes US & CA: http://bit.ly/PcRjQV
On Amazon: http://amzn.to/QuHtGR
On Juno: http://bit.ly/T1Izb4


Download the free mixtape here


01. Dancer In The Dark Intro – Audiovoid Remix
02. Bassnectar – Freestyle feat. Angel Haze
03. Jantsen – When The Beats Drop (Bassnectar Remix)
04. 6 Blocc – Ammunition Sample Pack (Bassnectar Recut)
05. Bangladesh – 100 [Acapella]
06. Dead Prez – Hip Hop [Acapella]
07. Bassnectar – Rap with a T [Instrumental]
08. Hudson Mohawke – Thunder Bay (Bassnectar Edit)
09. Zed Bias ft Juiceman & Simba – Jigga Up (Bassnectar Remix)
10. Ming & FS – Madhattan Bound (Bassnectar Remix)
11. Zion I – Human (Bassnectar Remixxx)
12. Bassnectar – Infinite
13. Bassnectar & DC Breaks – Breathless feat. Mimi Page
14. Son of Kick – From Here
15. Bassnectar & Double You – I Am A Laser (2012 Remaster)
16. Dusk & Blackdown – Kuri Pataka
17. Ed Solo – Egyptian Horns (Bassnectar Remix)
18. Bassnectar – Butterfly feat. Mimi Page (Bassnectar Remix)
19. Bassnectar – Hologram

Freestyle by Bassnectar from Amorphous Music w/ Free Mixtape


Online Media Executive at Funkatech
Breakspoll Award-Nominated Blogger. Author of Nero's exhaustive Twitter bio. Supports C.A.L.M. - http://www.thecalmzone.net/. Now sells jewellery online.
Freestyle by Bassnectar from Amorphous Music w/ Free Mixtape
Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus

Leave us a comment

Comments are closed.